Immigrant Messenger

We are two strangers
In a new land

Putting on our smiles
And best hairdos

We connect on screen
Twice a week

Hello Teacher, she says
Hello there, I wave

Tell me about the weather
Tell me about your home

How many rooms do you have?
Do you have couches, cushions, curtains?

Red is my favourite colour I say. I like red, she says. 

Do you go shopping? 
What do you buy?

The same. Week after week, she says 

Do you have a car?
Do you drive?

By bus by day and at night, she says

Do you work? How do you make money?

I do two jobs. Two half jobs. Little money.

What language do you speak?

Lingala, French, Swahili

Did you ever go to school?

Until I had to leave home.

Where are you from?
Where on earth is that?

Why have you come here?
Why will you not tell me?

Sorry Teacher 
She says
My English is not good

https://www.sledgehammerlit.com/post/immigrant-messenger-by-madhavi-johnson

2 responses to “Immigrant Messenger”

  1. Aruna Dhathathreyan Avatar
    Aruna Dhathathreyan

    Very much touched – wonderful!

    Like

  2. krisvijaya@gmail.com Avatar
    krisvijaya@gmail.com

    So simple yet poignant!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.